IHG Award Changes For 2018, New 70k Category Level

The IHG award changes for 2018 have been announced and it’s not too positive.

You’ll have to pay an increased number of IHG Rewards Club points at 499 properties, while 192 properties will see a reduction in the points required. They’re also introducing another new category level – 70,000 points for their highest tier properties.

Some of the more notable increases are Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber (from 40,000 points to 50,000 points), InterContinental New York Barclay (from 60,000 to 70,000) and InterContinental Hong Kong (from 60,000 to 70,000.)

InterContinental New York Barclay

InterContinental New York Barclay (via ihg.com) – increasing from 60,000 points to 70,000

It’s not all bad news though. Some of the properties seeing a decrease in points are Crowne Plaza Christchurch, New Zealand (from 30,000 to 25,000), Crowne Plaza Belfast, UK (from 30,000 to 25,000) and Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orlando At Seaworld (from 20,000 to 15,000.)

Quick Thoughts

These award changes haven’t gone into effect yet. If you have your eye on one of the properties increasing in price, it’d be best to book it ASAP if you have the points. If you’ll be making a reservation at a property that’ll be decreasing the number of points required, it might pay to wait until these IHG award changes have taken effect.

h/t Doctor of Credit

About Stephen Pepper

Stephen Pepper is on a 5 year, 50 state road trip with his wife Shae and their dog Truffles. Finding opportunities to earn miles and points is one of the ways they can afford to do this, so he'll try to help you do the same for your own travels.

More articles by Stephen Pepper »

Regarding comments: Comments posted at the bottom of Frequent Miler pages and posts are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
Stephen PepperGreg The Frequent Miler Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of
Greg The Frequent Miler

Welcome to the team Stephen!